The Kissing Booth is an Underwhelming Cliche…

If you haven’t heard, which is unlikely, yet for those who haven’t. The movie the Kissing Booth has become popular for teens of this generation of 2018. I have to say, personally I was not happy nor did I enjoy it.

Maybe it’s because I’m an adult woman and I find teen dramas stupid and sometimes pointless. But it has been the most seen and most appraised of this time. Why? Because teenagers are looking for something that is considered timeless such as Mean Girls, Clueless, The Breakfast Club and many more classic teen throb movies that (well let’s be real) nothing can compare in the late 90s and early 2000s.

I mean recent ones that I can think of is Easy A which is actually a good movie but the reason it played out so well is because most teen characters in Hollywood has been played out by older adults. Maybe if someone had actually known how to write its script better, cast actors who were older but can play the part and maybe Netflix tried to not sell it so hard, it would have eventually worked? Maybe?

I will say that I do feel slightly disappointed that there’s certain themes that shouldn’t even be in this type of movie. With sexist themes, some minor sexual harassment, two men obsessed with one young girl. Like these teens attempt the most through the film. I feel as though this movie has tried to bring back unhealthy habits from mysogynistic and sexist actions.

I’m all for authors making it from a hard cover book straight to the screen of our televisions. But my god, my hopes for another attempt teen throb movie will be less cliche and more realism with real world views and better comedy.

Leave a comment